• Looking For Mortgage Relief? - Find Out if You Qualify Today

RightPath Servicing – Reviews and Complaints

RightPath Servicing – Reviews and Complaints

RightPath Servicing – Reviews and Complaints 1094 392 The Law Office of Nadia K. Kilburn

Browse by Topic

Mortgage Relief

Short Sales

Loan Modification

Distressed Sales

Liens and Judgments

Foreclosure

Reinstatement

Mortgage Servicers

Education Resources

Ask an Attorney

Glossary of Terms

RightPath Servicing Complaints & Reviews

Are you concerned about RightPath Servicing and wondering about their complaints and reviews? Did you recently have your mortgage loan transferred to Right Path and want to know if you are in good hands?

Unfortunately, while the jury may still be out, things aren’t looking good.

RightPath Servicing is the latest mortgage servicing “brand” of Nationstar, LLC, a troubled mortgage servicing company.

The Nationstar family of companies, including their most recent dba, “Mr. Cooper” has a long history of consumer violations and government settlements. In total, since 2000, the Nationstar companies have had to settle with regulators 18 times, with financial settlements totaling over $156 million.

RELATED ARTICLE: If you are working on a loan modification with RightPath Servicing, read this guide to submitting loan modification documents.

RightPath Servicing Complaints

If you are having a problem with RightPath Servicing, and want to file a formal complaint, or request a Qualified Written Request, you can send the description of your issue to:

RightPath Servicing
Attn: Customer Relations
PO Box 619098
Dallas, TX 75261

In addition, if you live in Texas, New Jersey or New York, follow the instructions found on the RightPath legal complaints page.

Nationstar’s 11 settlements since 2020 total $77 million

Nationstar Mortgage, LLC, the original company, founded in 1994 as Nova Credit Corporation, has a very troubled past. Since 2000, they have been repeatedly investigated by local, state and federal agencies for their mortgage servicing violations.

Beginning in 2008, they were sanctioned by both the Arizona and Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions for consumer violations. That was followed up by sanctions in 2016 in Washington State and in 2017 in Rhode Island.

In 2019 Nationstar purchased Seterus, Inc., another mortgage servicer with a litany of problems with regulators.

Seterus, Inc. sanctioned for mortgage and labor abuse violations

Seterus was originally a mortgage servicing platform created by IBM. Seterus, while owned by IBM, was fined three times, in 2013, 2014, and 2019 for over $400,000. Their violations included consumer protection violations, labor relations violations, and mortgage abuses.

Given Nationstar’s and Seterus’s problems, it wasn’t surprising to anyone in the mortgage industry when they rebranded as Mr. Cooper in 2017.

Unfortunately, Mr. Cooper, like Nationstar, continued the pattern of run-ins with state Attorney Generals, the Department of Justice and the CFPB.

Mr. Cooper complaints lead to millions in fines

Nationstar’s troubles didn’t end with the Mr. Cooper rebrand.

In 2017, Mr. Cooper settled with the CA DFPI for $9,118,784 for violations of consumer protections. Then, in 2018 Mr. Cooper settled with the Maryland Attorney General for $760,000. Finally, in 2020, Mr. Cooper settled with the CFPB and all of the state Attorney Generals for over $86,000,000 for consumer violations during the pandemic.

Most recently, in 2020, during the pandemic, Nationstar dba Mr. Cooper, agreed to a $91 million settlement for mishandling foreclosures and borrowers’ payments. The settlement was seen as a warning to mortgage loan servicers against preying on borrowers during the pandemic.

The CFPB complaint stated that Nationstar failed to identify requests for loan modifications, and foreclosed on homeowners while they were in a loan modification review. In addition, it was alleged that the improperly increased borrowers’ payments, misrepresented when homeowners could cancel their mortgage insurance premiums, and failed to forward real estate tax payments from escrow accounts in a timely manner.

Given this massive settlement, it is not surprising to learn that Nationstar Mortgage dba Mr. Cooper is now doing business as RightPath Servicing.

Are you having problems with RightPath? Leave a comment below to share your experience.

Additional Resources:

Here’s how to prevent a foreclosure if you are behind on your mortgage payments

Here’s what you need to know about any foreclosure notice you may have received

Next steps

It’s great that you are reading about RightPath’s loss mitigation options. If you are a Washington State homeowner, the next step would be to schedule a free, mortgage relief consultation with me.

Please give me a call today at (425) 654-1674 to discuss your situation.

How Can I Help?


    By providing your phone number you agree to receive texts from The Law Office of Nadia K. Kilburn. You may opt out anytime by texting STOP. Standard msg and data rates may apply.

    24 Comments
    • Harald Whetchgis October 4, 2022 at 4:12 pm

      apparently the fraud aspect is alive and well they want your social before they will talk to you

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law October 13, 2022 at 3:09 pm

        If you’re referring to your mortgage company, they already have your social security number on file. They use your social to verify that it’s actually you calling – its just part of their standard verification system so if you need to speak with your mortgage lender, you can be prepared to have to give your social.

        • Hello, we are the Girard Family, throughout the pandemic we were on forbearance and unable to make money for our mortgage payment. We were under the impression that after the forbearance we were going to do a loan modification to put what we owe to the end of our loan. Over and over we asked if we are going to have the same payment and as far as the contract showed everything was the same. Knowingly, they waited 2 months and sent us notification that our payment is going up 800.00 dollars because our expense account was depleted and our home owners insurance and taxes were now going to go up. Please help us. We see this as a scam to force us into a situation that would certainly cause us to lose our home. We appreciate your time and hope to hear from you soon!

          • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 2, 2022 at 8:49 am

            Hello Girard Family – thanks for reaching out. I’m sorry this happened to you. Some lenders offer the option of spreading out the escrowed payments (for things like taxes and insurance) over a 6-12 month period to avoid the payment going up so much. My suggestion would be to contact RightPath and ask them if it’s an option to spread those payments out. If not, I would recommend consulting with an attorney in your state to see if you can get some in-state assistance. If you are in Washington state, feel free to give me a call.

    • We have a family home that my brother lives in. He was in a motorcycle accident a year and got behind on payments. He just assumed the loan payments in my mother’s name, (7 years ago). In 2017, my sister and I did a Quit Claim Deed to make the house solely our brother’s. Recently, he has been receiving mail from Rightpath addressed to ‘The Estate of…my sister” who is very much alive and we have been told to send all the documents we previously submitted twice since. To Mr Cooper, but the PO Box is different each time and they will not speak to him, the true owner. Just keep hitting a dead end. We are in Missouri and need to know what to do next.

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 2, 2022 at 8:52 am

        Hi Leanna – so sorry that’s happening, Mr. Cooper / RightPath are known for not transferring information well. If you have a copy of the assumption paperwork that your brother completed, send the paperwork to RightPath so they can see that the assumption was done. Send them a copy of the QCDs as well. Then, write a cover letter explaining everything that’s happened and try to ask to speak to a supervisor at RightPath to get their internal system corrected. I can’t help you more than this general advice since I’m not licensed to practice in Missouri so try to find an attorney there to help you. The other way to fix it and get away from RightPath would be to look into options to refinance with a new lender away from then. Good luck!

    • Really bad service, during hurricane IAN they stopped their phone number/services. Now its 1 month later and their robot is not working, not connecting. You cant even connect to a real person. I am not even sure how I am supposed to pay my mortgage to a place nobody answers and their services don’t work. Very Poor Service, do not recommend

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 2, 2022 at 8:53 am

        Hello! You are experiencing the same problems that many experience with RightPath. Try this number if you haven’t already: 833-685-2589

    • I have been trying to assume my fathers loan after he passed. Have been fighting with 3 different companies for almost a year. Community , then mr cooper and now right path.
      I send In every document they ask for and call to confirm they do have and it’s what they needed. Only to have some random underweighted deny the documents saying more info is needed.
      What more info could you want when asking for a pay stub with everything on it.
      Uploading forms into the portal under under documents as requested only to have them denied because they are not under the requested tab. ( that is not there ) .
      This company is a scam, will keep finding reasons to push you back until you give up and walk away.
      No communication with anyone but a customer service rep. Have asked for a supervisor 5 times and never one time talked to one. Underwriting, refuses to communicate with anyone for any reason. Just takes info from the portal but won’t read what is actually there.
      O and I almost forgot , had to stop them from doing a forclosure sale 2 times wile under assumption/ modification review.
      So much for good faith with this company.
      Sad sad sad.
      Looks like it’s time for a new law suite .

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 9, 2022 at 8:36 am

        Thanks for sharing all of that, Ray! There are many people experiencing similar stories with RightPath. If you have not filed a CFPB complaint against them yet, you should try that – the more people that notify the CFPB about what they’re doing, the more they may be regulated. It also might help you get some increased attention at the lender. Wish you the best. Here is a link to file the complaint should you choose to do that: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

    • I was just (my mortgage) was acquired by RightPath and thanks to your website I now know they were also servicing me under Seterus.
      RightPath sent me a letter claiming my homeowners insurance had expired although it had not. I am part of a master policy provided thru my HOA. I sent proof of insurance and then the games began.
      RightPath used 5 different insurance terms, claiming I needed coverage for, betterments & improvements, then hazard insurance, then walls in insurance, then all walls insurance then ho6 insurance and back to hazard and all walls insurance. I asked for clarification and receive none. These were slang terms, with the exception of ho6 but that was only used once, vaguely, and then back to hazard insurance. After numerous complaints to the CFPB RightPath finally explained in detail that it was a HO6 policy they were requiring and had already purchased for almost 3x the cost of a standard HO6 policy. This started in June and it wasn’t until November 17th, thru the CFPB, did they specify what insurance coverage they were requesting. All the other terms were either slang or not pertaining to HO6 coverage. Now that I have finally learned of the coverage they were requiring and purchased it in one day, they expect me to pay for coverage they claim to have placed since June 1st. Toward the end of July they sent me a letter claiming 2nd and final notice to purchase “Hazard Insurance” or they would do FPI (forced placed insurance). They ended up meaning a HO6 policy as that’s what they claim to have now purchased. It was impossible to understand what they were requiring and I’m sure it was done purposely.
      They have added a $1,000.00 per month payment to my current mortgage payment and will not allow me to make a payment without adding the extra $1k they’ve tacked on for this BS insurance scam.

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law January 17, 2023 at 10:33 am

        Hi Henry! Thanks for sharing – that is so frustrating! You did a great job filing that CFPB Complaint though.

      • Hi. We are going through the same thing. We are in NY state. They won’t accept legitimate insurance documents and demand extra payment for the insurance and are putting it into escrow.

    • Can you please tell me the name(s) and contact info for the Maryland Attorney General’s staff counsel who handled the complaint against MrCooper in 2018? Please reply privately by email if possible. Thank you!

    • I live in Virginia and I received a letter from RightPath Servicing stating that my mortgage has been transferred from my current mortgage bank to RightPath Servicing, effective 5/1/23. Apparently the terms of my loan is staying the same. All payment, statements and other account services will be handled by them and the escrow account will automatically transfer to them from my prior servicer. I am to log on to http://www.rightpathservicing.com/welcome. My problem with this letter is that today (5/8/23) is the first time I have heard that my mortgage has been sold or transferred. Normally the bank will tell me that this is happening, right? Well, I called my bank to ask them if this was legit and they told me that it was not and that my mortgage is still with them. Now, imaging if I would have gone ahead and started paying righpath the mortgage instead of my bank. I would have been going into forclosure. Well, I’m sure my bank would have contact me first before it would have gone that far but why is RightPath lying and saying that they are now the owner of my loan? Who can I complain to about this and get them shut down if they aren’t already? This is fraud.

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law May 9, 2023 at 10:41 am

        Thanks for sharing – I’m sorry this happened to you! You may want to continue to call your regular lender until June 1st just to make sure there isn’t a delay in the service transferring information in your existing lender’s system. It would be unusual for RightPath to just say they’re servicing without actually having taken over the loan. With that said, if that did happen and your lender has not released our loan to them, you can file a CFPB Complaint or a complaint with your state’s attorney general’s office.

    • Kevin Vendituoli July 26, 2023 at 10:08 am

      I am an attorney myself here in Rhode Island and someone needs to bring a class action against this organization…I received guarantees that I would receive the option to have my payments deferred without penalty due to the COVID-19 forbearance I qualified for. When it was reinstated I was told repeatedly that was not an option because it was only available to those loans held by Fannie Mae. I confirmed with Fannie Mae that my loan was qualified for this relief, received that in writing from them, and still had to fight with this organization to get the relief that I was entitled to and they had said was available to me when I requested the forbearance. They did everything they could to dissuade me and make me give up and I believe the only reason they conceded was because I had documentation and voice recordings of my calls and threatened suit.

      More recently, they failed to disburse my escrow funds and my homeowners insurance would have been cancelled had I not paid the annual premium in full, despite them sitting on the full annual premium. Now I am battling to get them to release the escrow they are sitting on, which is in excess of $10K….If I were not relentless and not an attorney, these folks would have walked all over me. I strongly believe they need to catch a class action and would love to assist…however, I am not the one to lead that charge. Feel free to contact me if you are interested.

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law August 18, 2023 at 9:52 am

        Hi Kevin – thanks for sharing! This isn’t something I can take on right now but your story here definitely helps others know to be persistent with them.

    • Best mortgage rates February 7, 2024 at 11:12 am

      bookmarked!!, I really like your blog!

    • I just filed a CFPB complaint against them today. I received a letter last week that they’re changing their name again, shedding the RightPath name and becoming Rushmore Servicing. They just denied a loan modification 2.5 months into the 3 month “trial period” for no reason whatsoever. I think I am being targeted as a desirable foreclosure for them. I am appointed as Administrator of an Estate for my deceased Aunt, but they will not authenticate me. I’ve provided everything they’ve requested, including letters testamentary and death certificate. They won’t give an actual reason for the inability to consider me successor of interest. The payments on their website are now unavailable. Nobody answers the phone during regular published business hours. The “office is closed” message just plays. For someone who just wants clarity on all of this, it’s impossible to get in touch with anyone there. Ever.

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law February 16, 2024 at 2:51 pm

        I would suggest you consult with an attorney in your state! Definitely a frustrating experience for sure.

      • James, I’m sorry you are going through this…
        I’m in the state of California and received the same letter about RightPath changing to Rushmore Servicing… I am beyond irritated with this mortgage scam and I’ve been with Nationstar, Cooper, RightPath and now Rushmore for a few decades… This is similar to a leopard NOT changing his spots. Changing the name is doing NOTHING for this company. They are a SCAM.
        When I was going through the COVID forbearance, in which they gladly offer. Promising all kinds of b.s., then not answering their phones for weeks on end.
        Oh, but remember, “They are here to help!” My eye, they are here to help! I would get weekly calls by random numbers asking if I wanted to sell my house! Hearing the same female Asian voice, the same exact voice who was answering Cooper’s phone.
        I reported them. Although, it can’t be proven in a court of law. I KNOW it was the same woman. And she finally stopped calling me when I called her out one day and told her that I knew that she worked for Cooper… She hung up on me!
        I pray that there is a special place in hell for this company and so many like them. Why can’t people just be honest?
        Since I received the relief from California Mortgage Relief program, back in late 2022. Cooper has left an $874.00 fee on my bill that I REFUSE to pay. It should have been settled with the Mortgage Relief help.
        When I reported them to the CFPB. Somehow Cooper was able get my complaint deleted. Claiming the issue was resolved. HOW was it resolved?
        And then I received a letter a few weeks later stating that since I was dissatisfied with Cooper that they were moving me to RightPath????????????
        Sometimes I just need to walk away for a little while, and come back to revisit the fight!
        I’m so over this company. But I am NOT over this fight.

    Leave a Reply


    By providing your phone number you agree to receive texts from The Law Office of Nadia K. Kilburn. You may opt out anytime by texting STOP. Standard msg and data rates may apply.

    Back to top