• Looking For Mortgage Relief? - Find Out if You Qualify Today

RightPath Servicing – Reviews and Complaints

RightPath Servicing – Reviews and Complaints

RightPath Servicing – Reviews and Complaints 1094 392 The Law Office of Nadia K. Kilburn

Browse by Topic

Mortgage Relief

Short Sales

Loan Modification

Distressed Sales

Liens and Judgments

Foreclosure

Reinstatement

Mortgage Servicers

Education Resources

Ask an Attorney

Glossary of Terms

RightPath Servicing Complaints & Reviews

Are you concerned about RightPath Servicing and wondering about their complaints and reviews? Did you recently have your mortgage loan transferred to Right Path and want to know if you are in good hands?

Unfortunately, while the jury may still be out, things aren’t looking good.

RightPath Servicing is the latest mortgage servicing “brand” of Nationstar, LLC, a troubled mortgage servicing company.

The Nationstar family of companies, including their most recent dba, “Mr. Cooper” has a long history of consumer violations and government settlements. In total, since 2000, the Nationstar companies have had to settle with regulators 18 times, with financial settlements totaling over $156 million.

RELATED ARTICLE: If you are working on a loan modification with RightPath Servicing, read this guide to submitting loan modification documents.

RightPath Servicing Complaints

If you are having a problem with RightPath Servicing, and want to file a formal complaint, or request a Qualified Written Request, you can send the description of your issue to:

RightPath Servicing
Attn: Customer Relations
PO Box 619098
Dallas, TX 75261

In addition, if you live in Texas, New Jersey or New York, follow the instructions found on the RightPath legal complaints page.

Nationstar’s 11 settlements since 2020 total $77 million

Nationstar Mortgage, LLC, the original company, founded in 1994 as Nova Credit Corporation, has a very troubled past. Since 2000, they have been repeatedly investigated by local, state and federal agencies for their mortgage servicing violations.

Beginning in 2008, they were sanctioned by both the Arizona and Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions for consumer violations. That was followed up by sanctions in 2016 in Washington State and in 2017 in Rhode Island.

In 2019 Nationstar purchased Seterus, Inc., another mortgage servicer with a litany of problems with regulators.

Seterus, Inc. sanctioned for mortgage and labor abuse violations

Seterus was originally a mortgage servicing platform created by IBM. Seterus, while owned by IBM, was fined three times, in 2013, 2014, and 2019 for over $400,000. Their violations included consumer protection violations, labor relations violations, and mortgage abuses.

Given Nationstar’s and Seterus’s problems, it wasn’t surprising to anyone in the mortgage industry when they rebranded as Mr. Cooper in 2017.

Unfortunately, Mr. Cooper, like Nationstar, continued the pattern of run-ins with state Attorney Generals, the Department of Justice and the CFPB.

Mr. Cooper complaints lead to millions in fines

Nationstar’s troubles didn’t end with the Mr. Cooper rebrand.

In 2017, Mr. Cooper settled with the CA DFPI for $9,118,784 for violations of consumer protections. Then, in 2018 Mr. Cooper settled with the Maryland Attorney General for $760,000. Finally, in 2020, Mr. Cooper settled with the CFPB and all of the state Attorney Generals for over $86,000,000 for consumer violations during the pandemic.

Most recently, in 2020, during the pandemic, Nationstar dba Mr. Cooper, agreed to a $91 million settlement for mishandling foreclosures and borrowers’ payments. The settlement was seen as a warning to mortgage loan servicers against preying on borrowers during the pandemic.

The CFPB complaint stated that Nationstar failed to identify requests for loan modifications, and foreclosed on homeowners while they were in a loan modification review. In addition, it was alleged that the improperly increased borrowers’ payments, misrepresented when homeowners could cancel their mortgage insurance premiums, and failed to forward real estate tax payments from escrow accounts in a timely manner.

Given this massive settlement, it is not surprising to learn that Nationstar Mortgage dba Mr. Cooper is now doing business as RightPath Servicing.

Are you having problems with RightPath? Leave a comment below to share your experience.

Additional Resources:

Here’s how to prevent a foreclosure if you are behind on your mortgage payments

Here’s what you need to know about any foreclosure notice you may have received

Next steps

It’s great that you are reading about RightPath’s loss mitigation options. If you are a Washington State homeowner, the next step would be to schedule a free, mortgage relief consultation with me.

Please give me a call today at (425) 654-1674 to discuss your situation.

How Can I Help?


    14 Comments
    • Harald Whetchgis October 4, 2022 at 4:12 pm

      apparently the fraud aspect is alive and well they want your social before they will talk to you

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law October 13, 2022 at 3:09 pm

        If you’re referring to your mortgage company, they already have your social security number on file. They use your social to verify that it’s actually you calling – its just part of their standard verification system so if you need to speak with your mortgage lender, you can be prepared to have to give your social.

        • Hello, we are the Girard Family, throughout the pandemic we were on forbearance and unable to make money for our mortgage payment. We were under the impression that after the forbearance we were going to do a loan modification to put what we owe to the end of our loan. Over and over we asked if we are going to have the same payment and as far as the contract showed everything was the same. Knowingly, they waited 2 months and sent us notification that our payment is going up 800.00 dollars because our expense account was depleted and our home owners insurance and taxes were now going to go up. Please help us. We see this as a scam to force us into a situation that would certainly cause us to lose our home. We appreciate your time and hope to hear from you soon!

          • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 2, 2022 at 8:49 am

            Hello Girard Family – thanks for reaching out. I’m sorry this happened to you. Some lenders offer the option of spreading out the escrowed payments (for things like taxes and insurance) over a 6-12 month period to avoid the payment going up so much. My suggestion would be to contact RightPath and ask them if it’s an option to spread those payments out. If not, I would recommend consulting with an attorney in your state to see if you can get some in-state assistance. If you are in Washington state, feel free to give me a call.

    • We have a family home that my brother lives in. He was in a motorcycle accident a year and got behind on payments. He just assumed the loan payments in my mother’s name, (7 years ago). In 2017, my sister and I did a Quit Claim Deed to make the house solely our brother’s. Recently, he has been receiving mail from Rightpath addressed to ‘The Estate of…my sister” who is very much alive and we have been told to send all the documents we previously submitted twice since. To Mr Cooper, but the PO Box is different each time and they will not speak to him, the true owner. Just keep hitting a dead end. We are in Missouri and need to know what to do next.

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 2, 2022 at 8:52 am

        Hi Leanna – so sorry that’s happening, Mr. Cooper / RightPath are known for not transferring information well. If you have a copy of the assumption paperwork that your brother completed, send the paperwork to RightPath so they can see that the assumption was done. Send them a copy of the QCDs as well. Then, write a cover letter explaining everything that’s happened and try to ask to speak to a supervisor at RightPath to get their internal system corrected. I can’t help you more than this general advice since I’m not licensed to practice in Missouri so try to find an attorney there to help you. The other way to fix it and get away from RightPath would be to look into options to refinance with a new lender away from then. Good luck!

    • Really bad service, during hurricane IAN they stopped their phone number/services. Now its 1 month later and their robot is not working, not connecting. You cant even connect to a real person. I am not even sure how I am supposed to pay my mortgage to a place nobody answers and their services don’t work. Very Poor Service, do not recommend

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 2, 2022 at 8:53 am

        Hello! You are experiencing the same problems that many experience with RightPath. Try this number if you haven’t already: 833-685-2589

    • I have been trying to assume my fathers loan after he passed. Have been fighting with 3 different companies for almost a year. Community , then mr cooper and now right path.
      I send In every document they ask for and call to confirm they do have and it’s what they needed. Only to have some random underweighted deny the documents saying more info is needed.
      What more info could you want when asking for a pay stub with everything on it.
      Uploading forms into the portal under under documents as requested only to have them denied because they are not under the requested tab. ( that is not there ) .
      This company is a scam, will keep finding reasons to push you back until you give up and walk away.
      No communication with anyone but a customer service rep. Have asked for a supervisor 5 times and never one time talked to one. Underwriting, refuses to communicate with anyone for any reason. Just takes info from the portal but won’t read what is actually there.
      O and I almost forgot , had to stop them from doing a forclosure sale 2 times wile under assumption/ modification review.
      So much for good faith with this company.
      Sad sad sad.
      Looks like it’s time for a new law suite .

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law November 9, 2022 at 8:36 am

        Thanks for sharing all of that, Ray! There are many people experiencing similar stories with RightPath. If you have not filed a CFPB complaint against them yet, you should try that – the more people that notify the CFPB about what they’re doing, the more they may be regulated. It also might help you get some increased attention at the lender. Wish you the best. Here is a link to file the complaint should you choose to do that: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/

    • I was just (my mortgage) was acquired by RightPath and thanks to your website I now know they were also servicing me under Seterus.
      RightPath sent me a letter claiming my homeowners insurance had expired although it had not. I am part of a master policy provided thru my HOA. I sent proof of insurance and then the games began.
      RightPath used 5 different insurance terms, claiming I needed coverage for, betterments & improvements, then hazard insurance, then walls in insurance, then all walls insurance then ho6 insurance and back to hazard and all walls insurance. I asked for clarification and receive none. These were slang terms, with the exception of ho6 but that was only used once, vaguely, and then back to hazard insurance. After numerous complaints to the CFPB RightPath finally explained in detail that it was a HO6 policy they were requiring and had already purchased for almost 3x the cost of a standard HO6 policy. This started in June and it wasn’t until November 17th, thru the CFPB, did they specify what insurance coverage they were requesting. All the other terms were either slang or not pertaining to HO6 coverage. Now that I have finally learned of the coverage they were requiring and purchased it in one day, they expect me to pay for coverage they claim to have placed since June 1st. Toward the end of July they sent me a letter claiming 2nd and final notice to purchase “Hazard Insurance” or they would do FPI (forced placed insurance). They ended up meaning a HO6 policy as that’s what they claim to have now purchased. It was impossible to understand what they were requiring and I’m sure it was done purposely.
      They have added a $1,000.00 per month payment to my current mortgage payment and will not allow me to make a payment without adding the extra $1k they’ve tacked on for this BS insurance scam.

      • Nadia Kilburn, Attorney at Law January 17, 2023 at 10:33 am

        Hi Henry! Thanks for sharing – that is so frustrating! You did a great job filing that CFPB Complaint though.

    • Can you please tell me the name(s) and contact info for the Maryland Attorney General’s staff counsel who handled the complaint against MrCooper in 2018? Please reply privately by email if possible. Thank you!

    Leave a Reply

    Back to top